Limit Omaha & Big O vs PLO8 and PLO Big O

Big_O07Big_O07 Red Chipper Posts: 5 ✭✭
I am new to Omaha and Big O and just completed Greg Vail's new book SCOOP! Big O & PLO8. I really enjoy the game and learned a great deal from the book (which I would highly recommend) but have a question. The only Omaha games in my area are limit.
What are some of the fundamental differences between PLO Omaha/Big O and limit Omaha/Big O? More specifically, based on the strategies given in SCOOP! Big O & PLO8, what adjustments would I need to make in order to apply these strategies in a Big O/Omaha limit game. I realize this isn't a simple answer and am just looking for some concepts that may be different between the two types of games to get me started thinking in the right direction.

Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 1,241 -
    Moderation In Moderation
  • AustinAustin Red Chipper Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I don't play any of those games so take the advice lightly.

1) bluff less with blockers
    2) embrace MW pots.
    3) squeeze extra value from the guys stuck in the middle with 2nd and 3rd nut hands.
  • Greg_VailGreg_Vail RCP Coach Posts: 51 ✭✭
    That's a great question! I do have two limit O8 students that I work with regularly and this question comes up regularly as well.

It is not a short answer, but to simplify the main points, your main goal is pure value. We almost never push in limit and we do even more to pull others in the pot. We also can get a little more aggressive with draws that include a made nut low in limit than we can in pot limit or no limit since we are not risking half or more of our stack should we be quartered or worse.

Thanks for the kind words on my book! If you really liked it and believe it can help others, please leave an Amazon review so that others can see it :) I would greatly appreciate it!!

If you'd like forever information, contact me directly for coaching information.