General rule for value betting Rivers?

AceFromSpaceKKAceFromSpaceKK Red Chipper Posts: 237 ✭✭
Hey there!
Right now I'm studying different river spots and I want to know if you guys have a 'general rule' when to value bet rivers. What are the factors you take into account there?

(I will post a hand on that topic later on!)

Comments

• moishetreatsmoishetreats Red Chipper Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭✭
    For me, it depends on my image, on V's playing style, on my best guess about V's perception of my image, and on the board.

The tighter that I believe that I am perceived to be, the stronger I need my hand to be to value bet. The looser that I am perceived to be, the more I can value bet with a wider range.

In addition, does V always "have to see it" or does V pride him- or herself on making tight folds? Against the former, you have to value bet less; against the latter, you can value bet more. Alternatively, does V love to hero call?

Finally, how does the board look? Are there lots of hands that V could have by the river that are weak, or must V have at least something by this point?

Then, put them together. As a random example, if I am perceived as loose and playing against a V who looks to hero call and playing on a board of ThTd2h5c2c, then I might value bet pocket 44s: V could have a lot of missed flush draws and/or AK hands that will call me down thinking that we're chopping the pot. If I have a tighter image, though, then I would not be value betting here: I'm only being called, at worst, by an overpair (and I might have folded that out by the river anyway).
  • AceFromSpaceKKAceFromSpaceKK Red Chipper Posts: 237 ✭✭
    Interesting thoughts. I think I should take my image more into account. I always try to find the best strategy against different opponents but I think that I'm not aware of how my image effects the opponent's play. I assume that a lot of players are just playing their cards and not the V. Then it's all about adjusting and finding leaks in their game.