Ignorant question?

DeucesWildDeucesWild Red Chipper Posts: 62 ✭✭
edited July 12 in Live Poker Hands
Hi All,

I am a beginner at best with poker,but I have a question regarding something I've seen consistently when looking at the odds of different hands (pocket pair, gut-shot, Flush etc.). It was my understanding that the rule of 4/2, is to multiply your outs by 4 after the flop, and by 2 after the turn to determine the poker odds.

My question is, that I see on multiple websites, the percentages or odds change to about half after the flop...yet, after the turn they tend to stay the same or change very slightly. I was never strong in math, so I feel this question may be quite silly...but I was under the impression that odds should change much more than 0.3% (arbitrary figure) after the turn. Am I wrong in this line of thought?

Comments

• RoblivionRoblivion WisconsinRed Chipper Posts: 198 ✭✭✭
    It's a little tough to determine what exactly you are asking. Basically, if you have the same amount of outs on the flop as you do on the turn, the chance of you making your hand will go down by about half because you have one chance to make your hand rather than two. Obviously there is a little bit more that goes into it, but that is the quick and dirty explanation.
  • DeucesWildDeucesWild Red Chipper Posts: 62 ✭✭
    edited July 12
    Roblivion wrote: »
    It's a little tough to determine what exactly you are asking. Basically, if you have the same amount of outs on the flop as you do on the turn, the chance of you making your hand will go down by about half because you have one chance to make your hand rather than two. Obviously there is a little bit more that goes into it, but that is the quick and dirty explanation.

You're right, I agree my post was difficult to understand. I looked up the odds chart I originally found to hopefully add context. Below is one example of what I mean: