Life Benefits of Poker

Jordan PowerJordan Power Red Chipper Posts: 432 ✭✭✭
Poker has been a serious part of my everyday life for six months today and while I've only recently achieved a win rate one can be proud of (as a starting point), I've noticed so many positive changes in my life that I wanted to open a thread discussing the life benefits of poker. I'll share the big three for me and hope others can share how this great game has benefited their lives.

First and foremost I've been drinking less and exercising more. I wrote myself a checklist for what factors need to be met to play (and study) my best poker and not starting the day hungover or in that hazy state that doesn't clarify as a hangover is key. I also play better when I exercise and meditate prior to a session. Consequently I've dropped 17 pounds since I've started playing poker 12 hours a week and I'm back to running a 16 min 2-mile.

Second, I've become much more patient. Before I started playing poker, anything that didn't go according to plan would frustrate me. I've had enough kings meet aces the past half year to just shrug my shoulders both at the table and in my everyday life. Also, sitting for three hours a time without a playable hand has instilled a significant amount of patience as well.