Flopped Top Two Facing Aggression

Jordan PowerJordan Power Red Chipper Posts: 230 ✭✭✭
Happy Monday, Red Chippers.

Playing $1/$3 mid afternoon on Sunday at the MGM National Harbor.

Hero ($1371) dealt :Ah: :JC: in the cutoff and raises to $20 over two limpers. The button ($200) flats. SB ($950) calls as well.

Button is a weak player who plays about 75% of hands whereas SB is clearly a thinking player although I have no experience with him other than the 4 hours we have been playing.

SBs range to call in the SB I took to be 22 - TT, AJ, AQ, AT, 9Ts - KQs, JTo - KQo, KJs, KTs, QTs, J9s. He had 3 bet Jacks in SB and gotten to showdown a few orbits prior so I feel it reasonable to take JJ+ out of his range here.

Flop ($69): :AD: :JD: :TC:

SB checks. I c-bet $35. I think I can target a ton of worse holdings here in SBs range and also allow button to come along with a gut shot or pocket pair. He's playing extremely wide and is a station so I don't want to give him any excuse to fold here if he caught a piece of this board.

Button calls. SB raises to $75. This set off a bit of an alarm bell for me. The sizing here is much smaller a x/r than SB had employed. He had not done a ton of check raising, but when it was done, it was minimum of 3x. V had gotten to showdown quite a few times and I had yet to see a bluff or a showdown without a ton of value so I'm fairly confident he's hit this board in some meaningful manner.

I think SBs x/r range here is limited to combos of 2 pair, a set of tens, KQ (straight), and nut flush draws. I don't see him x/r AQ here, personally.

So V I only thing is check raising:

JT, AT, AJ, TT, KdJd, KQ. Plugging this in to Equilab, I've got 39% equity against this range so based on the small raise, I can more than profitably continue. So I call. I never considered re-raising here because the only worse hands I see even possibly continuing is JT and AT.

Buttons folds.

Turn ($254): :9C:

SB bets $150.