Flopzilla Questions - flopping top pair with pocket 99s

MK12345MK12345 Red Chipper Posts: 15 ✭✭
Hey Guys....I have a Flopzilla question...I have been playing around with the software for a couple months now and had a question.....

(1) If i hold pocket 99s--->what is the probability/percentage that my 99s will be top pair after the flop (for example: let's say a flop of like 6, 4, 2)?

According to my numbers using Flopzilla:

CUMULATIVELY----> 99s will be top pair or overpair 28.6% of time and pp below tp 71.4% of the time.

Is that correct?

(2) What is the difference between tp and overpair and pp below tp? What does the "PP" stand for?

(3) Flopzilla also says that ABSOLUTELY my 99s will be an overpair 16.6% of the time, and pp below tp 42.9% of the time. Is that correct?

(4) What is the difference between absolute and cumulative?

(5) Finally, if i am dealt pocket 99s--->what is the probability that my 99's will remain the top pair by showdown?

How can I figure this all out by using Flopzilla?

THNKS. MIKE!

Comments

• JMCollinsJMCollins Los AngelesRed Chipper Posts: 10 ✭✭
    A pocket pair can not flop top pair. It can be an overpair. Sorry for needless correction. PP = Pocket Pair.
  • MK12345MK12345 Red Chipper Posts: 15 ✭✭
    Thanks for the distinction. What's the difference between top pair and overpair?
  • ericmwhiteericmwhite Red Chipper Posts: 34 ✭✭
    edited January 2019
    MK12345 wrote: »
    Thanks for the distinction. What's the difference between top pair and overpair?

Top pair is when you are holding the highest card on the board. An overpair is when you have a pair in your hand higher than any card on the board.

For example:

You have top pair when you’re holding :JS::TS: and the flop comes :JH::3S::2S:

You have an overpair when you hold :QS::QD: and the flop comes :JH::3S::2S:
    That was quite helpful. Thanks.
  • ericmwhiteericmwhite Red Chipper Posts: 34 ✭✭
    That was quite helpful. Thanks.