Non-standard AK line.

RoblivionRoblivion WisconsinRed Chipper Posts: 284 ✭✭✭
Early in a $400 WSOP Circuit Tournament. Blinds are 100-200 with a 25 ante, hero has about 15K.

V1 UTG - Also has about 15K. This is someone I have played with 2 or 3 times a year for the past 10 years or so. I know she is a good player who thinks through her actions, capable of both running bluffs and folding big hands.

V2 MP - About 12K. I try to stay away from the term fish, as it's not very descriptive, but it fits. Total noob not really certain how the game works.

V1 opens for 800 UTG.
Hero flats AKo (no club) UTG +1.

This is a spot I 3-bet near 100%, but her large open made me feel there was a good chance she had JJ+ and I might get 4-bet, which is a spot I would prefer to avoid at this stage. I also thought the large sizing would tend to get folds behind me.

V2 calls in MP. Button, SB, BB call. Whoops.

Flop (5K)
:Ac :9c :8s

Action checks to V1 who fires 5K.

A quick glance shows V2 is fighting the urge to call out of turn, and everyone else looks like they're just waiting to throw their hands in.

To me this looks like V1 probably has AK/AQ or possibly one of a couple club draws - of course sets are possible too, though not super likely. V2 can have any AX, and many draws.

Generally I would raise in this spot, but I wanted to make sure not to give either of these players an excuse to fold a weaker ace. There are a lot of turns I'm comfortable getting it in on, and it should be a fairly easy fold if a club comes.

Hero flats, V2 flats.

Turn (15K)
:7c

Okay, so the turn was THE card that beats me.

V1 jams. Hero folds.

Did a few things differently than I normally would, but I feel like I had good reasons for them. What do you think?

Comments

• LeChiffreLeChiffre NetherlandsRed Chipper Posts: 471 ✭✭✭
    edited February 10
    Roblivion wrote: »
    Generally I would raise in this spot

Why?