Best time to exploit mistakes

norbitnorbit Red Chipper Posts: 8 ✭✭
I'm new to poker. Have played very few hands but read a number of books and other material. I'm trying to understand the wisdom behind immediately attacking preflop mistakes with aggression. Presumably bad players are already making bad plays on the turn and river as a result of their bad preflop play. Why isn't it better to wait and attack them there? If you attack too soon, isn't there a danger you'll convince them to play more solid preflop, leading to them being generally less vulnerable on later streets? I would imagine that preflop mistakes are the easiest to correct. You can memorize a starting hand chart and not be wrong by much. They probably know that they are technically not supposed to play 60% of hands, but boredom and the cheap price of seeing a flop tempts them to do it.

In general, what I'm getting at is this. If you are in a game where you don't have to create mistakes, isn't it better to sort of go with the flow and sneak in exploitative moves here and there, rather than risk changing the game?

thank you.

Comments

• TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 1,791 -
    That's a great and deep question. Let me give a quick answer, then elaborate.

Your claim would be correct if the object of the game was to maximize the number of mistakes made by our opponent. However, our goal is to maximize the dollar amount we can extract from those mistakes. Typically the two goals require different approaches.