How wide should I go here?

U_TurnU_Turn Las VegasRed Chipper Posts: 25 ✭✭
Live 1/2 game, 300 max buy-in. $5 button straddle. In this room, UTG still acts first preflop when there's a button straddle. If there is no raise, blinds act in normal sequence and straddler acts last. If there is a raise prior to the blinds, the straddler acts in turn.

Hero is BB with $300, Villain is cutoff and covers. Villain and I have played together before, but I don't think we've played together since I started studying and applying the concepts I'm learning at Red Chip. He may see me as my old self that was limpy/cally pre and fit-or-fold post but we've played a few orbits together during this session so he may or may not have noticed the new and improved aggressive U_Turn.

Folds to Villain who makes it $25, button and SB fold. Before I can act, Villain exposes AKo and then said he didn't see I had cards. I look down at JJ and make it $80. He tank folds.

So I know this is an unusual situation and I'm not really questioning doing this with Jacks. I'm wondering how wide I should go here? Do my cards matter if I can play the rest of the hand with perfect information?

Comments

• blindraiseblindraise Red Chipper Posts: 115 ✭✭
    edited March 2
    Its kind of a dick move but I've been in a similar situation on the river. I tanked vs. a bet and opp. thought I called and tabled his hand. The dealer as well as other players informed him I had not yet acted and he had an 'oh shit' face. I shoved with a busted draw and he insta-folded. Conversation ensued with some people saying how messed up that was and others saying its the other players fault for not paying attention. I'm of the latter frame of mind; its their own fault and they know it- they dont wanna look like an idiot and call either so unless their ego is the size of the room I'd say go as wide as you want.
  • U_TurnU_Turn Las VegasRed Chipper Posts: 25 ✭✭
    blindraise wrote: »