Nervousness in Live Games

CloutierCloutier FloridaRed Chipper Posts: 32 ✭✭
I recently started playing poker again, mostly online. But I have a couple poker rooms near me so I decided to give it a shot.

I did well my first time and my second time wasn’t bad but I did lose. However in both occasions I found myself being VERY nervous.

I was playing way too tight. And too passive. I made decisions I would never make in an online game.

I have a tendency to get sorta nervous around people anyway, but throw in a little math and I just turn to goo.

Quick decision making goes out the window. I call when I should raise. Never even attempted a decent bluff. Etc...

Is there any advice out there that might help me?
Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• RoblivionRoblivion WisconsinRed Chipper Posts: 354 ✭✭✭
    The best thing you can do is to just keep playing live.
  • CloutierCloutier FloridaRed Chipper Posts: 32 ✭✭
    Thanks guys! Good to know I'm not the only one experiencing this.
  • LeChiffreLeChiffre NetherlandsRed Chipper Posts: 657 ✭✭✭
    Cloutier wrote: »
    I recently started playing poker again, mostly online. But I have a couple poker rooms near me so I decided to give it a shot.

I did well my first time and my second time wasn’t bad but I did lose. However in both occasions I found myself being VERY nervous.

I was playing way too tight. And too passive. I made decisions I would never make in an online game.

I have a tendency to get sorta nervous around people anyway, but throw in a little math and I just turn to goo.

Quick decision making goes out the window. I call when I should raise. Never even attempted a decent bluff. Etc...

Is there any advice out there that might help me?

Can you maybe try to formulate what actually causes your nervousness? Is it the financial risk, fear of making a mistake, fear of what others might think of your play, fear of success, intimidating atmosphere?