Tipping

JonKarlJonKarl Red Chipper Posts: 8 ✭✭
I play for a living and have been tipping $4-$8 an hour up to $1200 a month. I drag a lot of pots big and small. I realize I can’t afford that anymore. What is a good balance of tipping and trying to make a living? On some days the dealer makes way more money than I do. Is that really sustainable long term? Do I really just associate that with the cost of doing business?
Tagged:

Comments

• Jordan PowerJordan Power Red Chipper Posts: 497 ✭✭✭
    This thread has a few good perspectives.

https://forum.redchippoker.com/discussion/comment/92591#Comment_92591

I do not play for a living but I do play to make supplemental income so take my perspective with a grain of salt. I tip $1 on any post flop pot and do not tip on preflop unless there's an obvious reason to do so (maybe I stole $20 in blinds, or it was a 4 bet pot, something like that).

I have adopted, I believe it was @jeffnc's suggestion of tipping extra when you take a longer time to make a decision. I am then having a direct impact on the dealer's earning potential and I do like to throw an extra buck or two depending on size of pot.

I also appreciate what @persuadeo said in that thread about tipping at the end of the down to show appreciate for a dealer's work. There are many downs where I do not play or win a hand but the fact that a dealer kept the game moving is still worth something to me, I'll throw a buck and say thank you. This is usually very appreciated and remembered.

Tipping is the cost of doing business, but there are also benefits to it. Some of the dealers who floor where I play are pretty quick to comp me some food or throw some money for a beer on my card after a session. It's not all a sunk cost.
  • MrFussMrFuss Red Chipper Posts: 138 ✭✭
    My tipping depends on the stakes and the state of the hand. I tip less often at 1/2 or 1/3 than I do at 2/5 because its a larger portion of your win rate.