Learning NLO8

Chris_VillalobosChris_Villalobos BoiseRed Chipper Posts: 43 ✭✭
There's a card room close to me that offers NLO8. I guess it's the biggest game in the room and probably pretty soft considering it's in Eastern Oregon. I have very little experience with Omaha in general. The only books I've read on the subject are Ray Zee's 2+2 book and Bob Ciaffone's books back in the late 90's. What would be the best books or sites to learn to play NLO8? I have been listening to Greg Vail's videos on this site which are great!
Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• Chris_VillalobosChris_Villalobos BoiseRed Chipper Posts: 43 ✭✭
    Well I've been trying to avoid it but so many of the bad players love the game that I'm just going dive in. The other night I witnessed a multiple giant pots being taken and lost with hands like 88(J9)! Horrible starting hand for O8. Just seems like I could be printing money before the game burns out.

Found that PokerStars play money games have many NL08 tables so I can get the feel for it and make the big learning blunders there.
  • TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 2,727 -
    Ha, yeah, if people are playing hands like that you're right - the game may not have a future since all the money will end up with the person who knows what she's doing.
    Moderation In Moderation
  • Doug HullDoug Hull RCP Coach Posts: 1,793 -
    I once saw NL stud.

Once.

I wish I had sat because it must also be an abomination that is short lived.
    Co-founder Red Chip Poker,
    Author Poker Plays You Can Use
    Author Poker Workbook for Math Geeks
    Doug Hull wrote: »
    I once saw NL stud.

Once.

I wish I had sat because it must also be an abomination that is short lived.

I wish stud would come back. I could picture an NL version that maybe played with 3 or 4 betting rounds rather than 5 and incorporated a flop for each player's hand on 4th street.
    I miss Stud-8.