When is the right time for coaching

ulysses27ulysses27 Red Chipper Posts: 34 ✭✭
I've been playing seriously for about 7-8 months and have been working my way through core. I play mostly 10nl and some 1/3. I've learned a lot but have lots of questions and feel very confused at times with implementing concepts. Which made me think about coaching. Just wondered if it's too soon and I should just keep working through core (maybe a couple times), read books etc. Or is it worth the investment even this early in my development. My goal is to become a rec player at a very high level. I'm not really trying to go pro.

Comments

• TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 2,633 -
    ulysses27 wrote: »
    I've been playing seriously for about 7-8 months and have been working my way through core. I play mostly 10nl and some 1/3. I've learned a lot but have lots of questions and feel very confused at times with implementing concepts. Which made me think about coaching. Just wondered if it's too soon and I should just keep working through core (maybe a couple times), read books etc. Or is it worth the investment even this early in my development. My goal is to become a rec player at a very high level. I'm not really trying to go pro.

At your current stage a couple of hours of leak finding might be useful (if you have an online database), but recognize that coaching is expensive. If you're playing 10NL, it may take months for it to pay for itself. But assuming you get a competent coach, at some point it will.
    Moderation In Moderation
  • RussRuss Red Chipper Posts: 106 ✭✭

I jumped on a coaching opportunity when a coach here advertised some reduced rates. The best part of the coaching, for me, was it gave me an overall game plan. The CORE program (and other resources) is great and gave me parts to study and practice, but the coaching pulled it all together for me.