KK in the BB

sfx_beigssfx_beigs Red Chipper Posts: 25 ✭✭
Hey all,

While not a new player, I am new to seriously studying and I'm very much in the stage where I'm probably overcompensating when trying to plug leaks, learn new plays etc... That said, this hand came up in my last session and I'm curious how many mistakes I made here or if I'm hung up on results oriented thinking.

Game: $40-100NL at Hollywood Park in LA. $1-2 blinds. $5 drop on the flop. It's the first orbit so I have no real reads on anyone yet and I'm just getting to know the texture of the table. There aren't any huge stacks and nobody is playing super short. Stacks of those involved range from $50-$150. I haven't played yet so I still have my $100 buy in.

I get KhKs in the BB.

4 players limp including the SB. I raise to $15. 3 players call (SB folds).

Flop: Ac4c9d. (Pot: $56).

I check. I've always played a lot of LLHE and C-betting into 3 people always seems to bite me in the ass. Against 3 people, I find it hard to believe I'm not up against an Ace. I decide to check and see what happens behind me. If it checks around a brick comes on the turn, I'll bet. Sure enough, it checks around.

Turn: Tc.

Well... not a brick. So I check again. And.... it checks around again.

River: 5c.

I check again. 2nd player checks. 3rd player bets $12. The 4th player calls. I fold.

Obviously, I'm not posting this if my Kings weren't good if I showed down. As I said, I'm still at that stage where I swing wildly between too aggressive and too timid so I'm curious how best to hand this situation.

Thanks,
sfx

Comments

• LeChiffreLeChiffre NetherlandsRed Chipper Posts: 595 ✭✭✭
    edited December 2019
    I think this hand was played fine, and your flop plan was good, though you might consider betting the turn a bit more:

- Every player has made a non-mandatory check. While they certainly could check the flop (and SB the turn) with a weak ace, they have made the decision not to bet