Homebrew Equity Calculator

AlpineCurtAlpineCurt Red Chipper Posts: 61 ✭✭
In addition to microstakes player, I am an amateur/hobbyist programmer. For my own amusement and practice, I’ve been working on an equity calculator.

So far, you can enter any number of players’ ranges, a board (a flop with or without a turn and/or river or no board at all), and it will run a specified number of games and calculate each player’s equity.

My results are slightly off (usually only 1-3 percent points) from what Equilab gives and I’m trying to figure out why.

Possibilities I can see:

1. My methodology is off. My program will create or complete a board, pull a random combo from each player’s range (check to make sure there are no card duplicates), determine the highest five card hand for each player, and determine the winner. Ties explained below.

2. Definition of Equity is incorrect. My program returns the percent of the pot each player is entitled to. Each game, the program finds the number of “claims to the pot”. Meaning, if one player has the highest hand, there is one claim. If two players chop, there are two pot claims. If a whole table is playing the board, there are 9 claims and 9 added to total pot claims. Each claim is considered a “win” for that player. After completing the specified number of games, equity for each player is determined by dividing their number of “wins” (“claims to the pot”) by the total number of claims to the pot made by all players. This percentage includes the times they win outright and tie. Equilab displays results as %win along with %tie and adds those together to get equity.