50NL Contemplating a Hero Call

NinjahNinjah Red Chipper Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭✭
edited May 19 in Online Poker Hands
It's been ages (over a year, at least) since I've posted a hand history so I thought I'd share one from last night. No real history between Hero and Villain. He's been limping a good bit with weak hands and calling raises a good bit with weak hands. Saw him win a 3b pot with a hand that probably should have never seen the flop and he's made some questionable decisions post.

His sizing and his line make very little sense to me and I'm having a hard time putting him on a range (I just started playing again so I'll admit I'm rusty) but given the line I'm contemplating a hero call...but what are his bluffs? Would you play this differently and would you consider calling this river?

50NL 6 max, V ($133) limps on BTN, SB folds, Hero BB ($84) :AC::TC: raises to $2.50, V calls

Flop ($5.25): :7S::3C::9S: H bets $2, V calls

Probably a better flop for him overall as he could have easily limp/called pre with 97 and 73s but he also has a ton of air, random straight/flush draws, and will float overs. I flopped two overs with BDFD and BDSD so I elect to cbet.

Turn ($9.25): :6H: H checks, V checks

I turn a gutter but nothing else really going for me. Turn is much, much better for him has he could turn some straights and even more two pair combos now. I would expect him to bet this turn at a high frequency and he shouldn't fear a x/r so when he checks it seems like he has a pretty marginal hand trying to get to showdown.

River ($9.25) :QC: H checks, V bets $7.50, H ???

At this point in the hand I was ready to try to get to showdown with my A high when V decides to bet 80% pot which makes absolutely no sense to me. Sucks that I block JT but I wouldn't put it past him to limp/call JTo pre. I feel like his strongest hands and flush draws should be betting that turn when checked to so what does he have here that takes this line and decides to polarize the river?