The Mathematics of Poker - Bill Chen; has anyone read it ?

LsDghLsDgh Red Chipper Posts: 8 ✭✭
edited July 20 in General Concepts
I'm thinking of getting Bill Chen's book, The Mathematics of Poker. Reviews on amazon are pretty poor but that mainly seems to be down to people who can't grasp the math. I've just finished a math-based degree so I'm pretty confident that won't be a problem.

Just want to hear from people here that have read it. How'd you find the difficulty level? Did it help out your game at all or was it more just interesting to see some advanced math applied to poker? Does it take long to get through?

I'd imagine there are other books out there that are more accessible and more directly applicable to actual games but I'm interested in it from a purely mathematical point of view as well as for improvement in poker.
My only concern is that I'm fairly new to poker (only been playing 2 months) and that it might be too much too soon. Too much info when I've just gotten to grip with the basics.

Comments

• BigDaddyBigDaddy Red Chipper Posts: 70 ✭✭
    Is this a late April Fool's joke?
    Ok, I'll bite.
    LSDGH, I can recommend Poker Workbook, Math and Preflop, by our own James Sweeney. Math and poker strategy in one meal. Available now while supplies last!
  • persuadeopersuadeo Red Chipper Posts: 4,308 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I own and read/agonized through much of it before feeling outmatched at too many key points of detail. It was difficult but would not expect you to have the same issue. The knowledge is valuable, yes - the book is the basis and source for many more popular culture GTO breakdown books. GL!
  • LsDghLsDgh Red Chipper Posts: 8 ✭✭
    Sounds like it’ll be a challenge.

I just picked up James’ 6 max workbook. Maybe I’ll get his math workbook down the line if I like that and feel I could do with ingraining some concepts.
    For now though liking the sound of a deeper more theoretical look at poker math.