My first poker hand review: call or fold?

Lord_TruffingtonLord_Truffington Red Chipper Posts: 16 ✭✭
Hello Red Chippers, I'd like to ask your opinion on a hand. It is not mine but I saw it on Twitter. It's from the $2.5k Venom tourney:

Villain in in BTN (LAG, 31/27) and Hero in BB (both with ~100bb effective)

Action folds to BTN who opens 2bb, Hero calls with :4c:4d

Flop is :2c:Ad:4s

V c-bets 1.5bb (~1/3x pot), Hero checks/calls

Turn is :Qh

V c-bets 6.4bb (~1x pot), Hero check/calls

River is :As

Hero checks, V shoves for 75bb

Fold or call?!

My thinking (pls bear with me, i'm a total newbie, only been playing for 4 months!) is that V has in total 12 combos that beat us (1x AA, 3x AQ, 2x A4, 3x A2, 3x QQ). However, given his small flop c-bet, and the fact he is a LAG, I would think it's unlikely he flopped two pairs (although not impossible he would slowplay them). Turn c-bet is larger almost to show he connected, so AQ and QQ (6 combos in total) are possible holdings. When the second A hits the board, he shoves. Would he do it with Ax? I think so, certainly with AK (top set, top kicker, 8 combos), possiblly with AJ (decent kicker, given the blocker value of the Q on the board, 8 combos).

Also, the all-in on the river (massive overbet) makes me think it is used to scare Hero, rather than just for value. It forces to play solid, straightfoward poker, and fold all bluffs. A pot bet would have been more difficult to play. There are loads of other combos (AK, AJ, AT, maybe even A9, 32 combos) which he would c-bet there, and that do not beat Hero's.

So, my conclusion is that it's a CALL. But then again i'm very new and i might have a very flawed thinking. What does the community think?

Many thanks for any reply, very appreciated!

Comments

• TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 3,833 -
    Is $2.5k the guarantee or the entry fee?
    Moderation In Moderation
  • Lord_TruffingtonLord_Truffington Red Chipper Posts: 16 ✭✭