Tournament profitability: ROI vs BB/100

Lord_TruffingtonLord_Truffington Red Chipper Posts: 15 ✭✭
Good morning forum,
yesterday I was doing some analytics work on HM3 to understand the profitability of my tournament game. I am new to poker and I am still wrapping my head around the different concepts but I have a specific questions about ROI vs bb/100.

I group my online tournaments (~850 played so far, or 55k hands) by categories (e.g. $5.50 350-max tourneys, or $7 SitNGos, etc.) and for most categories I have a negative ROI (ranging between -10% and -20%, very unfortunately) but positive bb/100 (ranging between 10 and 25). How should I interpret the difference?

Usually these categories have 100-150 tourney in each (so small size) and I do understand that especially for tourneys you need very large sample, but still I would expect the two metrics to be a bit more aligned.

Many thanks for your help!
Lord Truffington

Comments

• TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 3,833 -
    I'm assuming the positive bb/100 occur in the earlier stages where you haven't busted yet? For tournaments it's a meaningless metric beyond possibly locating blind levels that you play poorly.

The metrics that you might want to focus on are ROI%, ITM% and possibly $/hr, the last of which probably isn't available in HM3.
    Moderation In Moderation
  • Lord_TruffingtonLord_Truffington Red Chipper Posts: 15 ✭✭
    Understood. ITM is decent, across the various tournament categories is 15-20% but unfortunately i rarely run deep and end up busting with min cash or not much more, hence the negative ROI.
    Thanks for the reply.
    Understood. ITM is decent, across the various tournament categories is 15-20% but unfortunately i rarely run deep and end up busting with min cash or not much more, hence the negative ROI.
    Thanks for the reply.