quick lifestyle question for full-time players

blindraiseblindraise Red Chipper Posts: 321 ✭✭
For those of you whose present or past success has been related to how much money you win in poker, how do you not let poker consume your time so fully? and is it ever ok to let poker consume your time so fully?

Comments

• TheGameKatTheGameKat Las VegasPosts: 5,440 -
    blindraise wrote: »
    For those of you whose present or past success has been related to how much money you win in poker, how do you not let poker consume your time so fully? and is it ever ok to let poker consume your time so fully?

I played full time for over a decade and it felt pretty similar to my job before that. Specifically, when I was a university prof/research scientist, I was as consumed by work as I was as a poker player. In retrospect, neither scenarios were particularly healthy.
    Moderation In Moderation
  • ShamanShaman Red Chipper Posts: 38 ✭✭
    edited February 2021
    Good question. Balance is very important. Relationships, time with family, time with friends, and other hobbies need to be at least on an equal footing. Its very easy to be out of wack on one of those. I depend on my friends and partners to help guide me back when I spend too much time in one area.

Do you have a family or other job or favorite activities that are being impacted by poker? (especially negatively?)

To be the best at poker, one needs to have at least some obsession with the game. Poker takes dedication and time. Where the line of healthy depends on the person.

Gamblers Anonymous has a 20 questionaire that gives some ideas of where the line is.

1. Did you ever lose time from work or school due to gambling?
    2. Has gambling ever made your home life unhappy?
    3. Did gambling affect your reputation?
    4. Have you ever felt remorse after gambling?
    5. Did you ever gamble to get money with which to pay debts or otherwise solve financial difficulties?