How to Identify and Plug Leaks/Weaknesses

AdamJKAdamJK Red Chipper Posts: 3 ✭✭
Hi all. I'm pretty new to the game, and so far, I suck - really badly. I'm doing my best to try and focus on one aspect at a time. I started with tightening up my RFI/3-bet ranges; then on being much tighter OOP (and never calling in SB); I try to place all my opponents on a range (mostly based on the ranges I use, give-or-take depending on how loose/tight they are), and then filtering that range based on their lines; I also tried to be more aggressive, as I've read over and over again in various articles that a common mistake is to call/fold too frequently. But I still suck, really, really, badly. In fact, I'm losing at a much faster rate now than I was before trying to improve.

I really don't want to give up as I love the game. So my question is, how should I go about identifying my biggest leaks/weaknesses and plugging them? I have Poker Tracker 4 and I record all my hands. I mark hands for review and then try and critique my play on those, but this approach hasn't really helped all that much so far.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Tagged:

Comments

• TheGameKatTheGameKat Las VegasPosts: 5,056 -
    From your intro post I note you've been playing for less than 6 weeks. You're supposed to suck, this is a complicated game.

At your current level of experience, I doubt ranging players in real time is helping much, although I'd be interested to know how you employ that info. Initially I'd suggest making sure you're opening ranges are solid. Then you can shift to postflop fundamentals.

Our CORE training program is designed to speed your process to reach breakeven before you go on to be a winning player.
    Moderation In Moderation
  • AdamJKAdamJK Red Chipper Posts: 3 ✭✭
    edited September 3
    Hey Kat! Thanks for super speedy response :-)