AKs oop , what do do in these situations?

KavaKavaKavaKava Red Chipper Posts: 42
edited September 2014 in Online Poker Hands
Hello, I took a shot at 50nl yesterday and dropped 4 buy-ins. I didn't play well, but I would like to post few losing hands I had, because I think i misplayed a lot of them. I am still learning the game, so any feedback or criticism would be greatly appreciated. I was little tilted as well and played too many tables and too lose in general.

6 max 50nl
UTG folds
MP folds
CO HERO 25/22 $73.01 raises :Ah:Kh to $1.50
B 56/44 59.80 calls
SB Folds
BB folds

FLOP: :8h:Th:4s pot is $3.75

Hero bets $3.50
B raises to $11
Hero re-reises to $29.24
B shoves for $58.30
Hero calls.

Turn :3s
River :7c

B wins $120.35 with :4d:4c

1. I know I was OOP. Was it better to play it slow?
2. How do you play hands like that(nut flush draws with two overs) in on this spot, given the fact that B was a fish.

3.I think I played it too aggressively and the bet sizing was bad? I don't know what do to in these spots.

Comments

• Doug HullDoug Hull RCP Coach Posts: 1,876 -
    The guy counting outs is almost always the person behind.

When you get raised and shoved on, you are the one counting outs. Against all kinds of ranges with mixes of:

* Top Pair
    * Some Flush draws
    * Sets
    * Straight draws

You are coin flipping. There is always some dead money to split up. As the betting escalates, there is more dead money, but the Villain's range keeps getting stronger. It is a trap.

You are never putting your money in stone dead here, but you are almost never putting it in really good either unless the Villain is getting super frisky with a Queen high flush draw or a monster combo draw that you dominate. Every now and then he has flush draw plus bottom pair and his hole cards are blockers instead of outs for him.

Escalating rarely gets you an edge, it just raises the stakes. In the case of sets you are are 75%-25% dog in a rapidly escalating situation.