Suited vs Unsuited Hands

Red Chip PokerRed Chip Poker Posts: 98 -
edited October 2014 in General Concepts
This question was emailed to us and Brenna gave us permission to post it on her behalf:

Before I ask my question I would like to introduce myself a little bit because I will probably need a little help more than once… My name is Brenna and I am new to poker, I have been playing for about 6 months. I am pretty much a live tournament player (trying to improve at live cash…..) so I really appreciate when you mention in videos situations where tournament considerations are important to think about (example Ed Millers video on blind play and the difference that tournament antes make).

the importance of suited hands. I have heard it mentioned in more than one video that a suited hand is much better than a non suited hand. I do read poker books and I have run into conflicting opinions on this and I have read that it is a mistake to overvalue a suited hand and that there is only a 3% difference in equity, which is inconsequential.

can you please explain your reasoning on why suited hands play so much better than non suited hands?
The official forum account for Red Chip Poker.

Comments

• persuadeopersuadeo Red Chipper Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yes the equity difference is not extremely great (but it is higher than 3%), but the "playability" is significantly better.

-You will feel more comfortable semi-bluffing and continuing with suited cards.
    -You will have a blocker to a higher flush coming in when you do make a low card flush.
    -You will have a blocker in determining if someone is on a similar draw.
    -You will be able to potentially freeroll someone with the same non-suited draw.
    -You will naturally play less trash if you restrict your connectors to the suited variety.

There are probably more reasons, but those work for my game.
  • al.eversonal.everson Red Chipper Posts: 15