Hero limps in hand 34 of Poker Plays You Can Use

ArtArtBobartArtArtBobart Red Chipper Posts: 356 ✭✭
edited October 2014 in General Concepts
So I just watched Ed's "How to Beat any 2/5 Game" video. I have been playing poker for a while now (11 years) but his advice to never limp in a pot had the greatest immediate impact of any tweak I have made to my game. Mind you, I almost never OPEN-limped, but never considered raising multiple limpers with all hands in my range.

Concurrently I am reading Poker Plays You Can Use and note that Doug espouses this same philosophy. However, in his book the hero over-limps two limpers with 7h6h in hand #34.

Now I still can see the value in over-limping in the CO or button with something like QJo or JTo, but this does not seem to be a similar situation.

My question is this: what do you consider to be reasonable exceptions to the "never ever ever limp" rule?

Comments

• Doug HullDoug Hull RCP Coach Posts: 1,857 -
    Concurrently I am reading Poker Plays You Can Use and note that Doug espouses this same philosophy. However, in his book the hero over-limps two limpers with 7h6h in hand #34.

My question is this: what do you consider to be reasonable exceptions to the "never ever ever limp" rule?

Art,

Yes, I espouse the same philosophy as Ed, because I took some coaching with him (best poker money ever spent.) I am very much of the Miller School.

If I had to give a simple rule about limping, it would be: "Never limp."

Howeverer, in a weaker $1-$2 or $2-$5 game:

If I had to give a more nuanced rule, it would be: "Only limp when it is an overlimp on the button with a solid speculative hand." More specifically, when you feel you can not profitably semi-bluff raise your speculative hand on the button yet really believe you will see the flop in position and profit.

I am on rare occasion going to complete the small blind in a limped pot.