Open Limps

FlushhDrawFlushhDraw Red Chipper Posts: 5 ✭✭
edited February 2 in General Concepts
I wanted to get some thoughts on a concept that seems frowned upon, but I seem to find great value in and that is the concept of open limping in cash games with specific hands.

I have just recently made the transition to cash games after years of being a tournament player. After ironing out some things I started this transition on December 12th and play on wsop currently playing $10NL, 4 tabling at the most and have just started incorporating a $20NL table into that 4 table mix. So I am new to serious cash game grinding,but notto poker as I was a full time tournament player in Atlantic City in the past.

As part of my poker studies I utilize a lot of Splitsuit's" videos and he and many others advocate not open limping under any circumstances, but I find it's almost mandatory with certain hands. I speak specifically of low pocket pairs and suited connectors.

UTG I do not want to be raising hands like 22, 33, 44, and 55 as they have very little alternate value aside from sets, but at the same time folding them is ludicrous. I have just over 12,000 hands played and have already lost count of the number of times I have stacked opponents with flopped sets. I can no way see folding a pocket pair and will call raises with them as Ithink most would for their stacking ability, but if 22-55 or even higher is not worthy of a rasie in early position, but they have such hidden potential, it seems to me the only other alternative is to open limp, and if no one raises, that's great, if someone does raise preflop and it's what would be considered a reasonable callable raise, it's a snap call due to the implied money potential.

Thoughts and opinions
Tagged:

Comments

• dirty moosedirty moose Red Chipper Posts: 480 ✭✭✭
    edited December 2015