Greetings from Bob in Southern Cal

silverrosesilverrose Red Chipper Posts: 11 ✭✭
I'm Bob Silverrose, recent PRO subscriber to RCP.

My day job is as a college professor, and I'm very happily married, with probably more kids than most guys have ex-girlfriends. My first attraction in poker was (and still is) Limit Holdem, which I started playing online in 2004. But living in Southern Cal, I soon discovered live cardroom cash games, and I fell in love. There's nothing like the people you meet in a cardroom.

Back to the beginning: after playing online limit SNGs in the early days, I settled in (thanks mostly to Ed Miller's Small Stakes Holdem) at online shorthanded $3/$6 and $5/$10 cash games on Party Poker; that is, until the UIGEA. I then turned almost exclusively to live play, starting at $4/$8 Limit Holdem, smoothly working my way all the way up to $20/$40 LHE. But since I could only play those bigger games when I had time to drive the 90 minutes to Commerce, I had to satisfy myself with the biggest Limit Holdem game at my local cardroom, which at the time was $8/$16 (twice a week). But about that time (starting around 2007) I started eyeing the big No Limit game at my local room.

I was inexperienced at No Limit, but this game turned out to be too good to ignore. It was a strange game: $3/$5 blinds, uncapped buyin, running twice a week, Wednesdays and Saturdays. Sometimes the main game would play extremely big, with $50-$75K on the table; other times you'd have 9 players in the must-move buying in for close to the minimum $200, with only a couple thousand in play. I started by buying in small, but quickly learned to beat the game for a little at a time, and I got to the point where I was buying in for $1500. I did *very* well in this game, playing part time from about 2008-2012. I was just getting started studying the NL game, but I had good fundamentals from my days as a Limit Holdem player, and the game was very good, and I won a lot.