AKss is over rated by me and a lot of other people.

Riverboat BillRiverboat Bill Red Chipper Posts: 452 ✭✭
I am not a big AK fan. I think the hand is over rated. Shame on me. I have lost with it so, so often. I realize it is MY fault. But I got mixed up when I started playing and read hand rankings. Starting hand ranking. I often see this hand ranked very high. But against 2,2 it is barely a favorite.

Holdem Hi: 1712304 enumerated boards
cards win %win lose %lose tie %tie EV
As Ks 852207 49.77 849322 49.60 10775 0.63 0.501
2d 2h 849322 49.60 852207 49.77 10775 0.63 0.499

How does this hand continue to be ranked so high?

Comments

• FilthyCasualFilthyCasual Red Chipper Posts: 871 ✭✭✭
    edited February 2016
    Yeah, raw data is going to show it isn't much better than 22, but the playability is more why it is ranked so high. If you hit a pair, it's top pair and gives great implied odds for someone with a weaker king or ace to lose a big pot. It also has better semi-bluff opportunity than 22, where you'll at minimum have 6 outs to catch up or leap ahead, let alone any FD/BDFD.

Let's say the flop is 9 5 3 rainbow. What hand is going to work better as a semibluff? Sure, the 2s are ahead right now, but I'd take betting with the AK every day(or even floating for that matter). If you can bet with a hand in more situations and pick up money without going to showdown, isn't that going to significantly outweigh a lot of pocket pairs where all you can really do is set mine and maybe have limited maneuverability?
  • Riverboat BillRiverboat Bill Red Chipper Posts: 452 ✭✭
    I think HU you play AKss much more confidently and will C-bet a missed flop the the AK. But it's still a bluff. A lot of players will probably fold the 2s because they see three overs. Often a small pair wins as a bluff catcher. I am not saying I would even play the 2s as strong as AK, but maybe I should.
  • roberekhanroberekhan Red Chipper Posts: 13

This is hot/cold equity.
    Mandal wrote: »