Opening Raise Size Question

johnvicjohnvic Red Chipper Posts: 42 ✭✭
I'm a terminal beginner so this is one of those default type questions. In a $1-$2 game I open for $7, a pot sized bet. In a couple of weeks I'll be staying at The Linq and may play in their $1-$1 game. A pot sized bet would be $4, but it seems small. Any thoughts?

Comments

• GabeyJGabeyJ Red Chipper Posts: 436 ✭✭✭
    7 seems extremely small. Does this work
    In your games to get people out of the pot
  • Skors3Skors3 Red Chipper Posts: 669 ✭✭✭
    Several.

In your normal game, when you raise to $7 - how many callers are you getting? I find $7 to be too low and my standard is $12. But every game is different.

$4 does seem too small to me. But you won't really know until you get there and play. Maybe start with $4 and see how that goes. If you find that $4 isn't scaring anyone away, then start bumping it up until you only pick up 1 or 2 callers. My gut tells me $4 will not get the job done, but it will be good practice at adjusting to the table.

Please report back on your stay at the Linq. I'm staying there for the WSOP.
  • Christian SotoChristian Soto RCP Coach Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2016
    Dont look for arbitrary numbers to guide you.
    When you sit down think about what you are trying to accomplish with your raise preflop, and based on the game dynamic an answer to what that number is today will come to you.
  • kageykagey Red Chipper, KINGOFTAGS Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I would avoid the Linq 1/1 game.
    I played it a few years ago and ended up losing more in that game than the 2/5 at Bellagio. The stakes are so stupidly small that folks call you down light with anything and limp with monsters. Technically, a $4 raise is the "correct" bet - but who the hell is going to fold anything for $4 pre?
    If you've played 1/2 - I'd recommend you play that. Or, try your luck at a capped 2/5 game. You'd be surprised how the skill level really isn't that much different.