HUD for those in the land of the online dead....

Joe IngersollJoe Ingersoll Red Chipper Posts: 3
As a learning amateur, I have often wanted to invest in a HUD. As much as a learning tool as a financial investment. However, I live in the land of the online dead. I can play for cash on Bovada and I play in an online group on pokerstars play money. I am not sure any work on Bovada and there was talk of pokerstars banning anyway. I tried the free Jivaro just to see if it would work on stars and failed. Do you have any insight or advice here?

Answers

• SplitSuitSplitSuit RCP Coach Posts: 3,984 -
    Welcome to the forum Joe!

A HUD on Bovada would be pretty useless given the anon nature of the site unfortunately. If you wanted to practice using a HUD I think ACR is one of the last remaining US options to do that.

That being said, what is your true goal for doing this? To have hands you've played saved so that you can review them? Or to really understand how HUDs work? Or something else entirely?
  • Eon137Eon137 Red Chipper Posts: 161 ✭✭
    I live in NY state, so I'm in the same boat regarding online options. I recently started playing microstakes on Betcoin. Pokertracker4 works on the freeroll tourneys and mico cash games. I managed to win $0.55 in a freeroll tourney, and have been grinding away with that, so I haven't made any deposits yet. My goal is similar to yours; learn how to use a HUD and incorporate this thinking into my game. I find that having basic stats like VPIP, folds to 3-bets, 3bet frequency etc. are really helpful in hand reading.
  • Joe IngersollJoe Ingersoll Red Chipper Posts: 3
    I am like Eon. I am looking for a great
    er understanding of hand and player ranges
  • SplitSuitSplitSuit RCP Coach Posts: 3,984 -
    I am like Eon. I am looking for a great
    er understanding of hand and player ranges