Hello from Colorado

solDragonsolDragon Red Chipper Posts: 53 ✭✭
Hello,

I am a nit (but I'm trying to get better). 

I am not naturally aggressive so NLHE has been a process. I started years and years ago playing in the 2/5 spread games in Colorado and was fairly proficient at jamming it in there 7 bucks at a time. I would also play 2/4 and 3/6 in Las Vegas 2 or 3 times per year. These days, the wife and I do not spend a lot of time up the hill because she doesn't like the 1/2/100 spread game. We have a fun 1/2 home game that we play in a couple times per month and we play 1/2 and 1/3 NLHE in Vegas, New Orleans and Albuquerque when we can. New Orleans and Albuquerque are always profitable. Softest games on the planet. Las Vegas has been hit or miss the last few years. 

She and I met at a poker table, so it is a pretty special game for us.  

As a programmer, I think of this game as a solvable puzzle. I like to play in loose games and fold a ton. Can't find many of those any more. The wife was a detective for many years so she can spot tells like crazy. And to me that's how she plays: crazy. She is naturally aggressive and hones in on weakness like a shark smells blood. It is a wonder to behold. She doesn't have any patience for books or videos. She thinks of it as a game played by liars which she has been trained to spot. She rarely has a losing session. 

Watching her, I know that I am coming at the game the wrong way. Limit and No Limit require different skills and aggression seems to be a huge factor. 

I do the math and work out the ranges and combos and the SPR so I can convince myself to not limp, and to 3-bet lighter and stack off without the nuts.  And it is starting to work. 

Sometimes I spew chips all over the place but I try not to worry about it.  It is a process.