Parallel Ranges

boyd148boyd148 Red Chipper Posts: 94 ✭✭
I understood escalating ranges but I'm not getting parallel ranges. Splitsuit gave an example of :As :Qd and :Jh :Jc . How are these two hands parallel?

Best Answer

Answers

• SplitSuitSplitSuit RCP Coach Posts: 4,030 -
    Dirtymoose nailed it :)
  • ImperatorImperator Red Chipper Posts: 898 ✭✭✭
    edited June 2016
    I tell people that in deep stacked games if you are willing to play AQo then you should be willing to play Q9s, but nobody believes me.

I have never come across this term "parallel ranges" but since I started playing with Equilab and Flopzilla and various board textures I've been trying to find what I've been calling to myself "equivalencies" in ranges. I do this so I can expand or contract my own range in interesting ways in certain circumstances.

So for instance if you are willing to play KTo from the button you should also be willing to play K6s from the button. As a matter of fact I would argue that with deep stacks you might prefer K6s to KTo. I'm not saying that K6s and KTo work in exactly the same way; I am saying that if you are willing to accept the risks and probabilities with one you should be willing to accept the risks and probabilities with the other.

@SplitSuit , is what I'm doing here when I look and compare how any two cards may work with various kinds of flops and board textures (what I'm calling "equivalencies") similar to "parallel ranges?" Or am I just crazy?

Simply for the expansion of the conceptual landscape you are introducing I can't wait until I get to your "Lab." But first let me get through your "Workbook."
    edited June 2016
    P.S. @SplitSuit

The above also seems relevant to our frequencies in various ways. I was listening to your podcast on leaks and then the next day I came across a comment by Janda: He said, (I'm paraphrasing from notes):