Things as a beginner to focus on

Robert BilskiRobert Bilski Red Chipper Posts: 4
So I'm just a beginner with not even complete basic knowledge. I'm playing at micros and I try to get as much knowledge value as I can during the play, but there is so much I feel I'm doing wrong that I don't really know what should I start with. So what's the most basic thing that I should work on during my hand analysis? I know this question may sound stupid but I just want to ensure myself I'm going into world of poker the right way. Thank you in advice for anu answers.

Comments

• tfaziotfazio Red Chipper Posts: 819 ✭✭✭
    Hey perfect timing listen to Dougs podcast this week introducing the crash course.
    Give it a listen it will help to head you in the right direction
  • thepokermonkthepokermonk Red Chipper Posts: 320 ✭✭✭
    For me it would be creating a sound preflop starting range. A lot of mistakes postflop seem to be a result of preflop mistakes, especially in the beginning of your poker career. Having a solid preflop starting range can keep you out of a lot of difficult situations later in the hand. Obviously there are a ton of different aspects of poker you could focus on, but that's where I would start. My recommendation for starting there would be to use Ed Miller's The Course, but there's a ton of material on preflop ranges all over the internet, including a video or two on RCP if I'm not mistaken.
  • LukaLuka Red Chipper Posts: 216 ✭✭✭
    I would ask "why" a lot.
  • tripletiretripletire Red Chipper Posts: 323 ✭✭✭
    For me it was shoving ranges when short stacked in MTTs, they are the most mathematically figured out of all the ranges in our poker world.

They are incredibly useful for understanding the basic "why's" behind a lot of poker math, and create a nice foundation you'll be able to use right away.

Here's a great example: