Raised with RA

YoshYosh Red Chipper Posts: 580 ✭✭✭
edited January 2017 in Online Poker Hands
This hand dovetails with my bankroll post and thoughts about playing cautious and tentative, possibly under-rolled to implement my ideas of a complete strategy.

The villain in this hand is a winning regular at the stake and the few that run higher. He is tight and aggressive. I am new to the stake as of about 3 weeks ago. I am intimidated by this player.

It seems like a simple spot, but I was lost as to how to play it.

Poker Stars $1/$2 No Limit Hold'em - 6 players

MP: $251.11
CO: $312.26
BTN: $69.42
SB: $338.92
BB: $301.51
Hero (UTG): $228.33

Pre Flop: ($3.00) Hero is UTG with Aspade.gif Kspade.gif
Hero raises to $5, 4 folds, BB calls $3

Flop: ($11.00) Kclub.gif 5heart.gif Jheart.gif(2 players)
BB checks, Hero bets $7.83, BB raises to $28, Hero calls $20.17

Turn: ($67.00) 7spade.gif(2 players)
BB bets $48

Comments

• sparkyAAsparkyAA Red Chipper Posts: 160 ✭✭
    What were your thoughts on his range on the flop when he raises to $28? As played, the :7s does not hit any of his range, so if you were good on the flop, you are still good. Tough spot as it is going to be very thin equity with just TPTK.

By flatting a pretty large reraise out of position, you put yourself in this predicament and really turn your hand face up. Would rather see a reraise either on the flop or a lead out on the turn.

As played, this is a call simply because you made the decision your hand was ahead on the flop and the turn changed nothing
  • Adam WheelerAdam Wheeler Red Chipper Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭✭
    He can't lead Turn.
  • persuadeopersuadeo Red Chipper Posts: 4,376 ✭✭✭✭✭
    He can't lead Turn.

I guess you better let him know in chat first!
  • YoshYosh Red Chipper Posts: 580 ✭✭✭
    He sent this emoji after betting turn

ncfrooj042tm.png

• sparkyAAsparkyAA Red Chipper Posts: 160 ✭✭
  • eugeniusjreugeniusjr Red Chipper Posts: 427 ✭✭✭
    How is the turn a call?