Leveraging Advanced Poker Training

BackFatBackFat Red Chipper Posts: 29 ✭✭
edited January 2017 in New To Poker Questions
Does anyone have any thoughts about good practices in leveraging Advanced Poker Training for complete NOOBS like myself? Since I can only get out a couple of nights a week it seems like a good way to get some hands in between my studies and live play.

I saw it addressed a little in a $1/$2 review session video in the $1/$2 crash coarse and the idea of just setting up the specific hands and the settings specific to the particular Swiss Alps was pretty much identical to what I do, but does anyone else have any other advice. I realize this is far from an ideal way to train, but unfortunately I gots kids and a day job. But since I live in my home office, I can use an app like this pretty often during the week.

Comments

• bigburge10bigburge10 Red Chipper Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭✭
    I subscribe to this program, and really like it. Definitely a good way to play a bunch of hands quickly. One thing that I do to get in the most hands is to set the hands to deal option to Playable Hands. That way, I don't have to fold very much and can really get in there and play. The one thing to keep in mind with this is that if you aren't comfortable with some basic starting hands, then using this option may not be great.

This is a great tool to just try different moves. One thing I like to do is to play every single hand (not using the deal only playable hands), just to get myself into some tough situations.

Also, I think the IQ scoring is pretty cool. It has a few flaws, but overall pretty cool. I emailed them to notify them of the errors I spotted and they're working to update them. But, you'll still get a good idea of whether your actions are decent or not. I really like the premise of the score which uses Skylansky's Therom of Poker as a base.