Hello from Seattle

kerrizorkerrizor Red Chipper Posts: 70 ✭✭
Hi all! Glad to be here.. been a member and lurker for a while, but hoping to be a bit more active in the coming months and thought I'd take a minute to introduce myself. I'm a software developer by day, trying to stay out of the rain in Seattle. I've been playing poker since ~2001, went pro in 2005-2006 and made a "good enough" wage playing 20/40 LHE in SF-LA-LV, but quit and went back to software to help a friend with a startup. As that ate up more of my time and energy, I drifted from "20 hours a week" to "once a month" player; the final nail in the coffin came when UIGEA dried up the games I had access to.

In the years since, I’ve played the odd weekend evening at Seattle area card rooms, maybe once a month (with the occasional binge of, gasp! back-to-back weekends!) The live game was shifting from my speciality, LHE and O8 to NLHE and while I’d played NLHE as a tournament player, I wasn’t playing enough as a recreational player to really make the jump, skill-wise. I stuck to the 1/3 game and toddled along, playing essentially break even poker 2010-2015 (seriously.. I'm up $32 for that time period.. across 150 hours) - I was totally a tourist! :D

Fast forward to 2015, where I’d started playing more regularly, and rediscovered the pleasure and joy the game holds for me. Being a naturally competitive person, I couldn’t stand being a fish, so I resolved to get back to at LEAST a “talented amateur” level of play.

So far, so good! I logged ~200 hours in 2016 and 7x'd my starting bankroll. Sure, it's a small sample size, but an hourly rate that is "better than working at Subway" is pretty damn good ROI for what is essentially a "serious hobby", not to mention the intellectual returns from applying myself and working at the game again.