One more question same tourney as below re AQ

JulesJules Red Chipper Posts: 440 ✭✭✭
A little later in tourney. I think like 23 of us left.

Blinds 12000/24000/2400

Hero CO: 734641 (30bbs)
V1 M1: 1158536 (48bbs)
V2 HJ: 2115465 (88bbs)

I'm new to this table so don't know how these 2 are playing.

V1 opens to 64800
V2 calls

Pot is 187200

Hero is in the CO with :As :Qc

So my question is.... Is it ok to just call in this spot? Is AQ any good here with a raise and call? I didn't feel comfortable 3 betting into these 2. Are we ever folding here and why?

Comments

• MonadMonad Red Chipper Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2017
    Honestly I shove here. We have a top 5% hand vs an opening range that is probably around 10-15% (in a vacuum) & stand to increase our stack by 20% without a showdown. If called we're behind stuff the top of villain's range, but are also flipping a fair deal w/ 88-JJ, are ahead of a suspicious AJs, KQs, etc. Fold Equity + Equity When Called makes this a good play.

One last thing to consider, that I think is a huge factor when at the short/medium stack range in an anted structure, is the antes and their impact on our stack. At a glance it appears we have a "30BB stack" -- perhaps too big to shove with. But with the ante there is something called the "True BB" effect. Antes make our stack diminish way faster, so in a real sense our 30BB stack no longer plays like a 30BB stack over several orbits -- we're under way more pressure. So in effect our stack is artificially shortened by the antes. If you add up the preflop pot blinds + antes and multiply that by 2/3, you get the "true BB" and divide your stack by that. In this case it's around 30K, which would make your stack around 24-25BB in "truth". I think we're happy shoving a 25BB because it falls in the range of a "resteal" stack.
  • JulesJules Red Chipper Posts: 440 ✭✭✭
    Monad wrote: »