How to improve my game to be a winner consistently?`

Joshua KJoshua K Red Chipper Posts: 82 ✭✭
I am fairly new to the game (being out for nearly 10 years). I have had the recent opportunity to seek poker as a career vs just a hobby. I want to take it serious and have been reviewing the information on this site, watching vids on youtube, reading through the forums and reading books.

However, I find it hard because I learn more from seeing strategies live and discussing hands. I know a poker coach could be an option, but I don't think that I have the ability to communicate in a way that I could understand them very easily.

I have sought out a friend whom provides advice, but it is hard for him to take the time to have discussions when we are far from one another and he spends about 15 hours at the card room himself.

Any recommendations of what else I could do to ensure that I have great understandings of my own individual game based on my learning style? Or, is there anyone in the San Jose area that is looking for a poker partner?

Comments

• Doug HullDoug Hull RCP Coach Posts: 1,867 -
    Joshua K wrote: »

but I don't think that I have the ability to communicate in a way that I could understand them very easily.

What do you mean by this? Your post is pretty clear, so why do you think communication i s a problem?
    Co-founder Red Chip Poker,
    Author Poker Plays You Can Use
    Author Poker Workbook for Math Geeks
  • Joshua KJoshua K Red Chipper Posts: 82 ✭✭
    Doug Hull wrote: »

but I don't think that I have the ability to communicate in a way that I could understand them very easily.

What do you mean by this? Your post is pretty clear, so why do you think communication i s a problem?

I feel I am not familiar with all the terms and in a previous post of hand explanation, it was clear that I did not communicate it well.
  • SplitSuitSplitSuit RCP Coach Posts: 4,071 -