correct call or naive?

mjbmjb Red Chipper Posts: 5 ✭✭
Hey guys, i recently started playing live cash games with blinds 2/2.

This is the first Hand of the evening so i have no Infos on anybody, however i hear the guys talking that the villain in this Hand is on the waiting list for the 5/5 game and that he is there quite often.

we are 8 handed, i am the in the smallblind with AcJh 4 limpers, i raise to 18 and everybody calls. (bigblind folds)

Flop Comes AhKh9h i decided to check my toppair with the jack of hearts as a backup everybody checks to villain who bets 40 as the last Person to act.

i call everyone else folds.
turn is the 8c and he shoves for 140 effective.

at this Moment i am thinking that he is attacking my shown weakness when checking the flop and having the Jh as a backup i make the call.
he Shows me 89 for bottom two pair and the river bricks.

did i totally misplay this

should i cbet this, or maybe check shove on the flop`?
as played is my call on the turn bad? i dont see him having anything but the flush or a bluff , AK is never in his range here , 99 might be, but wouldnt that Hand raise pre most of the time, maybe a9 which i block and he is probably going to Play this more aggressive pre against so many limpers.

76hh, 65hh, QJhh J10hh are the hands that beat me, however i feel like after my check on the flop he can so nicely put pressure on me by shoving the turn and i think anybody else that checks this flop is going to fold there alot of the time.

thanks for any Input

Comments

• moishetreatsmoishetreats Red Chipper Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭✭
    1) I'd complete -- not raise -- preflop. Or, if I were to raise, then it would be a lot more...

2) I think that an argument could be made for cbetting or for checking. I would likely check this flop though, too: as you noted, this can't hit many of the Villains' pre-flop limp-call range hand. If I were to check, though, then it would ONLY be because...