Enough implied equity to make the call?

Nicco HNicco H Red Chipper Posts: 9 ✭✭
Hi Red Chip friends,

This is my first time sharing a hand on here, I'm very interested and grateful to hear what you all think of my thought process and decision making. Thanks in advance for any feedback you can give me!

This hand is from a $10 6-max table on Global Poker. There are only 4 players, and I’m in the big blind with :4s:5s . UTG folds, Villain min-raises to $0.2 from the button, the small blind folds, and I call. I have Villain slightly covered as I have around $10.36 and he has around $9.56.

The flop comes :3d:7c:Ks

I check and Villain raises $0.22 cents into a $0.45 pot. I call hoping to pick up some straight or flush outs on the turn. As it happens, I pick up both. The turn is the :2S: , and the Villain makes a pot-sized bet of 89 cents. I quickly try to do some math:

Pot odds are 2:1, or 33%

I have 9 flush outs and 4 straight outs (9 spades and 4 sixes), for a total of 13 outs.* By the 4 and 2 rule I have a 26% chance of making my hand on the river.

*I realize now that it’s actually only 12 outs, since one of the sixes is the six of spades and I was double counting it. 24% vs 26% doesn’t make a huge difference in this hand though, just something to be aware of.

So I conclude that it’s a bad call to make, since I need to win this hand 33% of the time or better, and I’m only winning 26% of the time. But then I think, wait, what about implied odds? If I do hit one of my outs on the river, what are the chances my opponent bets into me a third time? And what are the chances of him calling a re-raise at that point? Probably pretty high. I could be winning a pot much bigger than the current size, maybe I don’t actually need to win this 33% of the time. Do I need to win it less than 26% of the time? I don’t know, and here I ran out of time and just made the call.