10NL tricky river spot - against Adam Jones??

LeChiffreLeChiffre NetherlandsRed Chipper Posts: 517 ✭✭✭
edited September 2018 in Online Poker Hands
Encountered someone by the username of @w34z3l over on 888 at the 10NLz game last Friday night. I am going to assume it's him so would be fun if he could chime in on his thought process (and why he was playing 10NLz?)

No HUDs allowed in the 888 zoom games. At some point I made the mistake of asking if he was Adam Jones (no reply) so he might know that I knew that he's far better than me but that I'm a student of the game :') anyway, here goes.

888 Poker - $0.10 NL (6 max) FAST - Holdem - 6 players
Hand converted by PokerTracker 4

BTN: 111.1 BB
SB: 175.2 BB
BB: 45.6 BB
UTG: 99 BB
Hero (MP): 129.1 BB
CO: 131.7 BB <-- w34z3l

SB posts SB 0.5 BB, BB posts BB 1 BB

Pre Flop: (pot: 1.5 BB) Hero has :Qs :QH:

fold, Hero raises to 3 BB, CO raises to 8.6 BB, fold, fold, fold, Hero calls 5.6 BB

Flop: (18.7 BB, 2 players) :8H: :2S: :4s:
Hero checks, CO bets 8.9 BB, Hero calls 8.9 BB

Turn: (36.5 BB, 2 players) :3S:
Hero checks, CO checks

River: (36.5 BB, 2 players) :8D:
Hero bets 18.2 BB, CO raises to 40.4 BB, Hero ?

Questions/thoughts:

1) I figured Adam would 3-bet a polarized range preflop. Would I be correct there? I wanted to keep his (semi-)bluffs in his range so just called his 3-bet and realized I'm at the absolute top of my calling range. I like to do this against better players as to avoid tricky spots.

2) Flop check-call pretty standard. Would continue too with 99-JJ as well as my :AS: Xx combos and :KS: :QS:.