This is why you play tournaments

uglytunauglytuna Red Chipper Posts: 130 ✭✭
Playing tournaments with a buyin less than $600 brings out the recreational players. Some times you can print money. Check out this unfortunate HH for me.

MY HAND:As4c
MY STACK: 100K
BLINDS:400-800-800
MY POSITION: Button

Preflop: CO limps, I make 3800, SB cold calls and limper calls

Flop: 48Q (all spades)
Checks Through

Turn: Ts
SB bets 5K, limper folds, I call


River: Js
V bets 5K and I raise to 15K.
V calls.

V shows K9s for straight flush. WTF ?!?
V says didn't realize he had SF.

Post Flop Notes: Did not credit V with combos of 9s in his hand. I also figured if the V doesn't realize he had a SF on the River he can call with K9 preflop.

This is why tournaments can be profitable.

Comments

  • TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 3,664 -
    Technically that's a penalty. Assuming everyone was too polite to call it.
    Moderation In Moderation
  • GabeThePlumberGabeThePlumber Red Chipper Posts: 20 ✭✭
    TheGameKat wrote: »
    Technically that's a penalty. Assuming everyone was too polite to call it.

    Penalty? What was wrong?
  • TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 3,664 -
    TheGameKat wrote: »
    Technically that's a penalty. Assuming everyone was too polite to call it.

    Penalty? What was wrong?

    Calling with the nuts with chips behind. The rule was introduced to help make it abundantly clear soft playing was cheating. Clearly in this case we're just dealing with a brain fart.
    Moderation In Moderation
  • March422March422 Red Chipper Posts: 34 ✭✭
    edited February 28
    AKs is the nuts; didnt see he had Ks9s
  • TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 3,664 -
    March422 wrote: »
    AKs is the nuts; didnt see he had Ks9s

    Since the player holds the Ks he knows nobody has AKss, thus he has the nuts, hence technically a penalty. Fortunately sanity apparently prevailed and it was recognized as a misread.
    Moderation In Moderation
  • Joe DoreJoe Dore Red Chipper Posts: 42 ✭✭
    TheGameKat wrote: »
    March422 wrote: »
    AKs is the nuts; didnt see he had Ks9s

    Since the player holds the Ks he knows nobody has AKss, thus he has the nuts, hence technically a penalty. Fortunately sanity apparently prevailed and it was recognized as a misread.

    what would be the penalty in a spot like this? Kicked out of the tourney?
  • TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 3,664 -
    Joe Dore wrote: »
    TheGameKat wrote: »
    March422 wrote: »
    AKs is the nuts; didnt see he had Ks9s

    Since the player holds the Ks he knows nobody has AKss, thus he has the nuts, hence technically a penalty. Fortunately sanity apparently prevailed and it was recognized as a misread.

    what would be the penalty in a spot like this? Kicked out of the tourney?

    The default penalty is being sat out for an orbit, but it's at the tournament director's discretion.
    Moderation In Moderation
  • TheGameKatTheGameKat Posts: 3,664 -
    edited February 29
    The most recent version of the rule I could fine is below.

    “Checking the exclusive nuts when last to act on the river is not an automatic soft play violation; TD’s discretion applies based on the situation.” The TDA is protecting player error once again. Every time I have seen this mistake made there has been a warning and no penalty. This rule change reflects the reality of the situation: most of the time this is an honest mistake, not an indication of collusion.

    Source and embedded comment: APT
    Moderation In Moderation

Leave a Comment

BoldItalicStrikethroughOrdered listUnordered list
Emoji
Image
Align leftAlign centerAlign rightToggle HTML viewToggle full pageToggle lights
Drop image/file